Working Out at Home

Working out at the gym versus working out at home used to seem like a huge difference. I thought that working out without the equipment at the gym was not a real workout. That is why if I was not able to go to the gym, I would not workout besides maybe a few pushups. This only lead to inconsistency though and a major change in my schedule. I would have to take out much more time for the gym on days that I was too busy when I could have just saved some time and worked out at home occasionally.

Once I got more into fitness in social media, I learned about the variety in equipment that can be used as substitutes for equipment in the gym. There were almost just as many if not the same amount of videos of workouts at home that there were for workouts at the gym. For example, there are a copious amount of exercises that you can complete with just a resistance band. It can be used to work out every body part depending on how you use it. I also got different pound dumbbells which can be used to perform most exercises and are a good substitute for a bar or even cables in some cases. The resistance bands and dumbbells can even be used in combination. A bench is a great addition to all of this and really makes it seem like I do not need the gym on some days. 

Image result for dumbbell workouts for men gif

Although this may seem expensive, it actually is cheaper in the long term if you consider the factors of going to the gym such as the gas money. Even when I alternate between the gym and working out at home, I still feel that I save some time if not money at least which indirectly is just as effective. Additionally, all the equipment is not always necessary. Body weight exercises for muscles like abs or just cardio work very well for me. It is just as difficult training with burpees to warm up as it is training with the treadmill to warm up. Not to mention, running outside in the warm weather is better than the treadmill. In addition to this, it is much more convenient when I have a packed schedule and just want to fit a good workout in quickly at night or before I start my day. 

Image result for burpees gif

Once I started working out at home, I became for efficient in my time management. Not only this, but I found many more workouts that I can even add in when I go to the gym if I want. My main concern was still being able to work my muscles to their limits and seeing and feeling results. There were some days that I got more sore working out at home though compared to working out at the gym because I was challenging myself to do exercises a little differently using different equipment. Most importantly, it helped me be able to be more consistent with working out.

Image result for set of resistance bands

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

  1. I have always thought that working out at home wasn’t as effective. I haven’t really done any working out at home and I usually just try to squeeze in a time that I can go to the gym. I am going to try working out at home, doing burpees and I might be a resistance band too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started